Shopping Challenge, Day Six

by julespetra

Day Six. I can’t believe it has almost been a week of not shopping. I honestly dont remember the last time I went this long without buying a single thing. I know it’s twisted and sick in a consumer capitalist kind of way but when everything around you appears so cheap, and working in fashion makes everything even cheaper, how can a young woman resist the temptation!?

Some of you are probably thinking, “She just can!”, but I beg to differ. There are plenty of opportunities to shop cheap in ol’NY. There’s H&M, Daffy’s, Loehmanns, a few Forever 21’s, and now TWO Century 21’s, not to mention the infinite sale racks. Tourism in New York, if nothing else, is thanks to these unlimited racks of underpriced garments! Dont get me wrong, you can throw a rock and hit a Gap or Zara, but in most cities finding clothes as cheap as you find them in New York is only at an annual or biannual sale. Not at the beginning (and end!) of every season!

The problem my darlings, is that we aren’t all tourists in New York. Many of us see those endless sale racks everyday and one would think that we’d be used to it by now. For those of us who aren’t, maybe it’s about time we tackle that old wives tale (“if it’s on sale I’m saving money”) and save up for something a little more meaningful and long-lasting.

Jacket: Aritzia, Dress: Comptoir des Cottoniers, Scarf:J.Crew, Shoes:Madewell, Bag:M by MJ

Day Six in Ctown

