Tea and Biscuits Anyone?

by julespetra

Scones and biscuits are easy to make and perfect for an early day snack, they’re a brunch treat as I often say. I couldn’t resist the temptation of a home baked breakfast and practically leaped to the kitchen this morning. Scones made with heavy cream are a little too rich so I swiped out the heavy cream for a lowfat milk and the scones turned out perfectly. In the batter I grated fresh ginger and lemon zest for a punch. If you’d like a glossy finish, beat an egg yolk and brush it over the tops of the scones. Make sure to sprinkle a little sugar too! *wink

Scones with ginger and lemon zest

After mixing your ingredients ball up, and flatten out your dough about 1.5 inches thick

cut triangles, I prefer them in eighths.

pat them down with a little flour

lay them out on your baking sheet

bake for about 15 mins, remove from oven once they're lightly browned and cracked

