Old, Used, and Rare: Our Bookshop. Saugerties, New York

by julespetra

We drove upstate this week for an academic overnight in Saugerties, New York. It’s fairly well known that upstate New York is bursting at the seams with young writers, artists, musicians, and other creative types, but what I didn’t know was that it is also the home of one of the best rare and used bookstores I’ve seen in a long time. My roommate and I collectively found over 30 wonderful books we would have liked to add to our bookshelf…but reluctantly settled for 10 reasonably priced and world class finds.

The lovely store I refer to is, Our Bookshop. What started out as an attempt to find books on carpentry (for a personal bookshelf), quickly turned into an exciting venture of finding rare and beautiful books for a boutique bookshop, thus told by the owner himself.

So if you do have a long weekend, or just a night to spare, book a night (and dinner!) at The Hideaway Hotel (a cozy inn I stayed in on my last trip upstate), go for a hike, and pick out a good book on your way home.

Our Bookshop, Saugerties New York

$1 books!

two floors!

rare hard cover children's stories

More!

