Central Park and Upwards

by julespetra

Saturday I spent the day wandering around uptown Manhattan. I started in Central Park, made my way to the Metropolitan Museum of Art for a glass of sparkling, and then headed down fifth avenue to see the Steve Jobs memorial at the apple store. A sad end to the day, I know, but I had to pay my respects.

Since I moved to NY in 2004, Central Park has changed a lot. What was once the lovely and star-lit, Tavern on the Green, has now turned into food trucks, a public bathroom, and a “gift shop”. Listen, I’m not complaining, the food trucks are rather delicious, but it’s sad to see a classy and beautiful place get turned into a cart-food hang out spot. I dont think the sunbathers in Sheep’s Meadow are bothered by the coffee and turkish delight just a few steps away, but it certainly scared off the petanque players who, as if offended, relocated to bryant park.

I had originally planned to go to the Guggenheim after my stroll, but since they were changing their primary installation, I turned back downtown to the Met for a bird’s eye view of the park. It was as stunning as ever and with the warm wind that’s lingering this early fall, I didn’t feel cheap ordering a prosecco to cool off.

bubble gum -- Thanks Luli!

gourmet food trucks- How far will this trend go?

our fountain

row boat rides

sail boats

bicycling on the east side

wedding photos- one of two couples getting married in CP! Congratulations!

Guggenheim

the rooftop at the Met

rooftop shade

Steve Jobs memorial. He will be missed.

