Praha sent me a love letter but it got lost in the mail.

by julespetra

For years my life’s goal was to travel and photograph, constantly on the search for something new. But lately I’ve come to realize that there isn’t anything to search for, per se. Ultimately, the city you love falls in love with you first and everything else is happenstance.

In Marrakech a little boy, who was described by another gentleman as being a “petit guide”, found my dear friend and I and lead us to our hotel. But, in Prague, we didn’t need a “petit guide”.

In Prague there was Kafka, sausage and sauerkraut, beautiful architecture, lively people, a rushing river, and opera. It was a musical city, with a dreamy cafe life. Prague lead me down the cobblestone streets, where I never felt alone, as I often felt in Berlin, and the castle in the distance, although looming to some, gave me tremendous peace. After climbing the mesmerizing steps of the Kafka museum I stumbled into the Shakespeare bookstore where I found Clare Wigfall- author of The Loudest Sound and Nothing.

After I purchased her book it was wrapped in brown paper and handed to me, that was the moment I knew I’d fallen in love with Prague.

One of prague's 3 train stations

Balloon

Ambulance vans

eh ben...

the charles bridge musicians

architecture

Opera

